Live Webinar originally aired Wednesday, September 16, 2020 at 12:00 PM. Watch webinar recording:
JOIN friends of the FLWHEP as St. Louis architects Sue Pruchnicki and Tom Peterson welcome us into their unique home - a historic building with an interesting connection to the FLWHEP.
Originally built in 1914 as a Southwestern Bell telephone exchange, the building housed Jacoby Art Glass from 1945 to 1970s. Original homeowner of the FLWHEP Russell Kraus was a commercial artist and worked as a freelance designer for Jacoby from the late 1950s to 1970.
Sue and Tom will share how they came to live at 822 Wilmington and discovered information about Russell's designs along with other pieces of Jacoby history inside. We'll take a look at Russell's work and the windows that he created for churches across the Midwest during this period.
Sue Pruchnicki, FAIA, is a Principal of Bond Architects. Tom Peterson, AIA, is a Principal with Mackey Mitchell Architects. Photo credit: Carmen Troesser
EXHIBIT: Great City, Great Architecture: The Steedman Library and St. Louis Extended through SEPTEMBER 2021 St. Louis Central Library
1301 Olive Street, St. Louis, MO 63103
IN 1928, the Steedman Architectural Library was gifted to St. Louis Public Library by St. Louis business man, George Fox Steedman. Mr. Steedman’s purpose for this generous gift was “to develop better architectural work in St. Louis” by providing access to “books of an inspirational character to students and practitioners of architecture” and its allied arts.
Great City, Great Architecture: The Steedman Library and St. Louis, is a unique exhibit which showcases items held within this collection and highlights ties to architectural gems in St. Louis, including Louis Sullivan's Wainwright Tomb and the Kraus House by Frank Lloyd Wright.